Air assist fan error keeps popping up

I have only had this glowforge since September and I keep getting air assist fan errors, I have done all the steps it asks me to do and did a deep clean and it still pops up. It is so annying b/c I have orders to fulfill and I keep wasting material with these messages b/c the print just stops in the middle of printing. I have attached photos of my fan to show that it is clean and it spins freely when I turn the blade. Please help!!!

Also, side note, I am new to this machine and I noticed that sometimes when it is printing I see a fire flame from the laser when cutting material, is this normal?

Are you using magnets to hold down your material? Did you remove the fan housing and clean out that area? Did you use a brush to clean both sides of the fan blades?

It is normal to see some flame as you are cutting with fire. It should not burn continuously.

2 Likes

yes I use small magnets to hold down material b/c the pegs don’t hold down very well when I am cutting warped wood. I also did clean both sides of the fan blades, I took the back silver part of the fan off and cleaned that side of fan. the pic shows the magnets I use. I also have always used an ac infinity fan and not the interior glowforge fan and thought that might have been the issue, but I took it off and used the glowforge fan instead and I still got the error message. I have heard that the magnets can cause an issue, so I will try to print again without the magnets and see if that works.

The inline fan has nothing to do with the air assist fan. The magnets could be the problem. What happens without them?

2 Likes

A clean fan on a machine that new should work reliably. It’s almost certainly the magnets.

2 Likes