Airship Design and Manufacture

Alright, I’m making some time today before I completely forget everything that went into this airship.

To begin with I knew I wanted to use some sort of ribbing design, so I make a little mock-up of that as best I could figure out how to. I’m an engineer by trait doing firmware coding mostly, but with enough knowledge of solid modeling to be dangerous. So I designed the whole ship in Onshape. The original start was this:

Now this was fine and all, but I didn’t like the way the front ribbing wasn’t normal to the outside curvature. So I talked to one of the Mechanical Engineers at work and he showed me how to use some better features to get everything to line up nicely. about a month later, I had what was pretty close to the final design.

From here it was all printing and smooth sailing right? Well, as it turns out I printed the whole ribbing and then realized something: it looked pretty boring without any texture.

So naturally instead of just being able to print each piece after downloading it (more on that later), I had to also add some wood texture to it. Adding the texture in a way that wasn’t terrible added a lot of time to the project, but I’d say it was really worth it. Now, since I’m the type to find the way to do the least amount of work and still make a good product, I decide to only add texture where it will be visible on the final product.

As luck would have it, I didn’t think about the settings for the texture, and after looking at this full set of ribbing put together I decided to do it all over again. I’m sure you all can relate to that feeling :wink: