Apple TV Remote Holder

tumblr_p0f62wufMP1rzx9dqo3_1280

I have one of the recent AppleTVs, and find the remote to be a bit too small (always gets lost) and I always mix up which end is the touchpad (shame on you Jonny Ives)

I’m new to Glowforge/laserings, so I decided to practice joint techniques and made a holder for the remote that makes it easier to find and know which way is up. Made with 4 layers of PG maple hardwood (love the finish on the cut edges!) The joints were snap fit after some monekying with kerf values.

35 Likes

Genius! Remote is way to small, I feel like a giant

1 Like

Neat.

(I’m actually on the TV team @  and did a bunch of the initial bringup work on that remote and Siri. No, I had nothing to do with the ID. :slight_smile: ).

5 Likes

Oh excellent! Lovely design! :grinning:

Nice. I always lose the black remote on the black furniture.

1 Like

BTW: If you have one of the silver TV remotes, you can turn them into bottle openers. Yes, it still works. :slight_smile:

Can’t do this with the new remote (but you could probably etch the glass).

BTW: The 3D printer is a ~>5 year old Ultimaker original. I bought it as a kit. The frame and gantry are all laser cut plywood. It was the piece of kit that made me conclude, quite surely, that laser cutters were, in and of themselves, going to be a huge revolution in the maker community.

10 Likes

I can die happy now…I have seen everything! :rofl:

3 Likes

That is so cool - gonna have to do that mod to my old ATV remote :slight_smile:

Seriously! I have to check the back to see the orientation of the Apple logo before I’m sure! Drives me nuts.

I don’t have one, so this may be silly - but isn’t all of the text on all of the buttons oriented one direction?

I like these little joiners. image

12 Likes

Oh, la-de-da, big man who can read without glasses… :laughing: