Bamboo Cutting Board

Did this tonight…

And the question of settings came up. So here’s the scoop…

This board was .4" thick bamboo. I hadn’t used it before and I didn’t do any tests. Usually I test new materials rather extensively. But I didn’t have any to spare, so… I figured I’d base my settings on :proofgrade: Thick Maple Ply. As such, I used 1000/100/340. It turned out just the way I wanted it… Great contrast, yet not too deep.

24 Likes

Just gotta figure out how to translate that into figures I can use on my machine…lol

4 Likes

I must say, even as a complete noob laser owner, I feel ridiculous saying 1000. I cringe not being able to apply a real-world unit of measure.

8 Likes

1,000 = 335ipm :slight_smile:

@Tom_A if you want to experiment, Lowe’s Home Improvement has 4" x 4" x 0.420" thick solid bamboo flooring sample chips for 25 cents each. Pick up a dozen, have some fun :slight_smile:

I tried cutting through one and that was a big negatory… after 12 passes at full tilt and getting about 1/8" into it, I got bored with the test. LOL.

7 Likes

Yeah still not useful…lol
Universals have 0-100% for power and speed
Then dpi and ppi

1 Like

100%. :grinning:

2 Likes

Wow. Yeah I really should. My Wife picked up these boards yesterday and I had no idea they were bamboo until earlier tonight. I can’t believe you couldn’t get through at 12 passes?! Geez!

3 Likes

Yeah, I even called my dad because he’s the woodworker in the family.

His response: “Yeah, there’s a reason they’re making cutting boards out of it.”

13 Likes

The Janka hardness test measures the resistance of a sample of wood to denting and wear. It measures the force required to embed an 11.28 millimetres (0.444 in) diameter steel ball halfway into a sample of wood. This method leaves a hemispherical indentation with an area of 200 mm2.

While that puts bamboo around 1300-1400, similar to oak. Lots of references say that strand woven bamboo is usually between 4000-5000!

6 Likes