Best wood products for photo and more

Hello. I’m pretty new to glowforge but have been loving it so far. I have been Working on some photo engraves as well as some maps, and signs; trying to learn the ropes. I sell things at a local farmers market and I have a decent supply of proof grade materials but am doing some made to order work and was wondering what I could get locally ( aka same day) at a Lowe’s or Home Depot. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Do you want the best or what you can just get locally?

They aren’t the same thing.

Lowes has a decent Oak plywood that the filler is not totally laserproof. However I usually have to pick through the entire stack to get the least knotty, Revolution Plywood also cuts well but has limited use and does not engrave well. They also have straight poplar wood that is decent and not to extremely pricy,

1 Like

Lowes or THD are not reliable sources for anything that cuts consistently with a natural wood finish, but you can find the odd piece now and then. Home Depot sells a line of plywood by Columbia Forest called “Purebond” which is pretty good, but they don’t carry it in-store, you have to order it for pickup.

The next best source locally is a woodworking supply store like Rockler. They have decent Baltic Birch, which is a nice choice for many things.

Beyond that, wholesale wood suppliers like Rugby will have some good stuff.

1 Like

I’d actually be interested in knowing information on both. I asked the question about local suppliers because if I run out and still want to work on something I can get it without waiting for shipping.

Ok. Thank you

I’ll check it out. Thanks

Watch out with depending on any supplier, especially local. They can very often not have what you need on short notice.

Wholesale/commercial suppliers are more consistent in that regards, but even those struggle sometimes (i.e. the current pandemic affecting all kinds of supply chains…)