Clear acrylic briefcase

Hello everyone!

I’ve got a quick question. I had somebody contact me asking if I could make them a custom clear acrylic briefcase for their laptop. They said they’ve got a 13inch MacBook air. My question is, has anybody tried making something like this before? What would you charge? The person wants their name engraved on the briefcase also. I used the box maker to create a starter template based off of the laptops dimension. But don’t know what to charge. I figure I’d ask since I’m still learning what can I create and how to price my creations in the glowforge. Thanks!

A custom Plexiglass briefcase, materials, hardware, time… I’d probably charge in the neighborhood of $450.00-$500.00.

7 Likes

I’m a glazier (glass guy) and have worked with acrylic, polycarbonate, etc. I hope you’re aware that acrylic will crack at finger joints or any other tightly assemble areas where there are “sharp” cuts. Also if there is a mechanical fastener used, like a screw. And if they drop this thing, it will shatter.

5 Likes

I wasn’t aware of that. It’s what he asked for. I will message him and let him know. Maybe I can use a different material to possibly make it?

2 Likes

Seconding @w.poplaski comments. Acrylic seems like a really bad material choice for a briefcase unless it’s purely for display. If I had a prop house manufacture such a thing it would be in the $1000-$2000 range at minimum.
If you decide to take on this project, I would recommend you explain very clearly to your client the material issues and if they wish to proceed have them sign a waiver that they understand what you’ve told them and you are not responsible for the item being fragile.

7 Likes

I would say polycarbonate, but that can’t be cut with a laser. Both polycarbonate and acrylic scratch very easily as well, unless it’s Marguard or some other scratch resistant equivalent.

2 Likes