Clorox wipes

Did a search, saw a couple people mention them, but no one saying yea or nay. Can you use Clorox wipes to clean the interior of the GF? They are amazing at cleaning soot and that brown sticky stuff that gets everywhere. If yea, are there any bits where you should not use them? I am guessing the lens/window/mirror bits still need Zeiss wipes, but can I use them on the lid? on the crumb tray? on the passthrough doors? fans?

I would not.

They contain chlorine, which is highly corrosive to electronics components.

5 Likes

I’ve been using Clorox wipes for 2 years, without issue (cleaning everything except lenses, circuit boards, and lights. I’m no expert but a Google search didn’t readily find results that said Clorox wipes contained chlorine. One of the results described:

“A note on Clorox Wipes : They do not contain chlorine bleach . Because of the brand name Clorox , many people assume that they are bleach -based, which they are not — the active ingredients are hexoxyethanol and isopropanol.”

Again…I’m no expert, and I’ve been using Clorox wipes for 2 years without issue. Use at your own discretion/risk. One or more of the GF forum members who are experts may be able to weigh in.

4 Likes

The ingredients in Clorox wipes are available:

Active ingredient: * 0.145% n-Alkyl (60% C14, 30% C16, 5% C12, 5% C18) dimethyl benzyl ammonium chloride, 0.145% n-Alkyl (68% C12, 32% C14) dimethyl ethylbenzyl ammonium chloride

Chlorides are also corrosive, so… probably not the best choice. But this is hardly my area of expertise.

3 Likes

You’re not asking for suggestions, but I use Sprayway glass cleaner on a cotton rag or microfiber cloth (sprayed onto the rag, not the machine). The only parts I clean are the lid, being careful to avoid the PCBs, the head, and the rails.

The optics are cleaned with Zeiss wipes.

4 Likes