Combo CNC & Laser Build - Tardis Cat Tree

This is a combination CNC and laser build. The signs and top light were done on the Glowforge and the rest was CNC and hand tools. I have a few more details to add, but this is pretty much complete.

It’s half inch ply and a bit to big even if I did have a pass through, so CNC was used. The cats are currently napping, so we shall see what the reception is. For now, it makes a great Christmas Tree:

Here’s a closeup of the light and a shot without the lights on.

65 Likes

In my next life, I want to come back as one of your cats.

11 Likes

I am a huge Doctor Who fan and that is amazing! I love the BAD CAT. I have to ask though, is there a public file for the dalek in the background? I’m going to have to do some digging when I’m done with work to make me some Doctor Who goodies! Well done.

I wonder if he will mount that on a Roomba? Have the cats chase it around the room…or vice versa.

2 Likes

No surprise, given my avatar, that I think this is amazing! Wow! :slight_smile:

4 Likes

The Dalek plan is from MakeCNC (they have some cool SciFi stuff) and very much worth it:

It takes about 2.5 sheets of ply and I resized it a bit to get the slots to fit better.

Mine is not yet complete, but soon. I plan on doing a second one with lights because I am weird like that.

10 Likes

We’re not worthy, we’re not worthy!!! Super duper cool!!!

3 Likes
4 Likes

Oh now that’s cool! I would fly that around DragonCon in a heartbeat.

2 Likes

Love Dr. Who, except for the current one. Just doesn’t seem to be a good fit. And not because she is a woman. Very difficult to understand. Oh, and I love the Tardis cat house.

2 Likes

Love it!

2 Likes

Oh gosh, that’s amazing! The important thing though, is how does the cat like it?

2 Likes

That is… effing incredible!