Controlling Etch Depth for Magnets

Hey everyone! I’m relatively new to Glowforge but have been really enjoying it so far. I’m working on designing a game board that has a lid secured by 4 magnets. They are 1/8" thick and I’d like to sink them into 1/4" plywood. I’m assuming I’ll use the etching setting for this, but wanted to know if anyone had experience with controlling the depth of the etch that I might use as a jumping off point. I’m going to be using maple, if that helps.

Any experiences you can share, any tips and tricks for toying with etch settings, any anything is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

You will need to do a bit of experimentation to get your engrave the proper depth. I suggest making a simple square for the test. Engraving depth is variable depending on the material and the Glowforge settings. Experiment engraving your small test square on the 1/4" material until you have the depth you desire. You might start with one pass at high power/slow speed/high lpi, or with two passes at lower power and faster speed.

9 Likes

If no one has done any work like this before, I’ll definitely do a lot of testing. My hope here was that someone had done the work before and had a good place for me to start. Thanks though!

2 Likes

I’ve actually done this a lot for using magnets, but I must agree with @dklgood …testing for your particular design and material is pretty much the best way to go. It won’t take you long. I know because I had to do that myself. Your choice of materials is going to have the biggest impact on what settings you end up with.

7 Likes

You might browse through these threads: Search results for 'engrave depth' - Glowforge Owners Forum

4 Likes