Converting Images for 3D Engraving

I’m trying to find more information on how I would convert an image like this to the type of raster file I would need for 3D engraving. I have no experience with Inkscape or Illustrator, but I want to start make cameo silhouettes and am willing to learn I just don’t know what I’m looking for. I got raster file from another thread, but am having a hard time finding the right keywords to find any YouTube videos that will teach me what I need to know. Thanks in advance!

4 Likes

The term you’re looking for is a “heightmap”. You basically start with a 3d model and then export it as a heightmap which converts depth to greyscale, ready for engraving. Blender is a popular program to do this sort of thing.

You can search here for more info or on google for examples.

5 Likes

Another search term for this forum would be “depth map.”

https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=Depth%20map

8 Likes

What you are looking for is Gimp (and Blender). Blender does 3D but Gimp does raster files that Inkscape can use but has little power to modify.

When you see an image your eyes have to see white as high and black as low. If you are getting the impression of height from shadows it will not engrave well, However, I have had decent results from photos like that with modification in Gimp. If the piece is symmetrical and lit from the side it can be blended with its mirror image to good effect. But still need a bit of cleanup. Even the output from Blender may want a bit of touch-up.

I downloaded GIMP once upon a time. But that’s probably why I haven’t been finding what I’m looking for. Haha Are there any YouTube tutorials that you can recommend that teach what you’re talking about? I will also search for them on my own, but if you already know of some that would be super helpful thank you!

It’s the first link in that search that @cynd11 already sent.