Custom table for my Forge

Realizing that I’m actually going to get one of these things reasonably soon and that I had nowhere in the house for this thing to live, I’ve embarked on a fun project to build some new custom table/shelving/desk furniture for my office.

I’ve just completed the first stage of the build (the Glowforge table itself), and just wanted to share. As a web dev/programmer by trade, it feels good to make physical objects for once in my life, rather than virtual :slight_smile: Looking forward to many more physical builds once the laser arrives!

Top is reclaimed California redwood framing timbers from a salvage yard in San Gregorio, CA. Framing is standard 1/2" gas pipe - all painted with Rustoleum Oiled Bronze metallic spray paint. End caps are just rusty old angle-irons I got for free that I just sanded down and painted to match.

Glowforge table

well thats pretty!

That’s wonderful!

It’s really nice looking! And looks like it’s built like a Sherman tank. It won’t be going anywhere, anytime soon. Great job!

Very good.
Nice job re-tasking that timber.

Very cool and professional looking.

Very nice! That wood is beautiful!

I am a video editor, so I can totally identify with the need to create physically vs virtually. You aren’t alone! :wink:

Beautiful work!

It’s lovely for any purpose–seems kind of a shame to hide it under equipment in a workshop!

Thanks! I agree it’s a bit sad to hide it under a Glowforge (which will take up almost 100% of the surface… I have a small office and didn’t leave a lot of margin just to try and keep everything as tight in there as possible). However, I take comfort in the fact that I’m also building a matching desk in the same style, that will be much more uncovered, and will hopefully turn out just as nice looking.

Really good work. You have created a table that will last a long time. It wants to be used and it is shouting heirloom to me. Bravo.