Cut line

Hi all, I wanted to engrave a picture with a cut outline. I easily put the picture in the GFUI but as for a cut line I used a pdf file and tried to upload it. I basically saved a cut out in photoshop as a pdf file and then on the GFUI I clicked upload and used the file but it came up as a engrave and I didn’t have the option to change it to cut. Not sure but am I supposed to export the pdf file. Don’t know what I need to do. Can anyone kindly explain please. I have read the user manual and documents from Glowforge… don’t understand this bit. Thank you in advance.

Hi i am not an expert, but I had a similar experience basically I used a non glowforge color for the line - there is a great tutorial on seting up your workspace - I will look for it tonight.
Did you try clicking on the “engrave blue box” in the glowforge interface this will open the menu to change it?

Cuts (and scores) need to be vectors, as opposed to bitmap (raster) images. The difference is that vectors retain the instructions for how to draw a shape, instead of just being a picture of a shape.

Most people make their vector art in a program like Illustrator or Inkscape. Even though PDFs are capable of containing vectors, I’m not sure whether Photoshop is capable of saving that way, as it’s a bitmap image editor.

Edit: Apparently you can use the pen tool in Photoshop and save as SVG. I think the recommendation here is going to be to use another program, but in a pinch you might be able to get a cuttable file out of Photoshop.

2 Likes

What @chris1 said, and it sounds like you’d get a lot out of this:

3 Likes

Hi, thank you for your reply. I’m not with the Glowforge just yet but as far as I remember by clicking on the design itself I didn’t get any option to change it and nor did I get any option to change it by clicking on any of the thumbnails. I did try saving on 2d AutoCAD dwg* too and tried uploading that file but that also came up as a engrave again I think, can’t recall.