Cutting Area Issue

Good afternoon everyone,

I’m having trouble with the maximum cutting area on my GF Basic. I’ve read through a few posts on here and from what i can gather the current max cutting area is 279mm deep by 495mm wide.

I cannot get anywhere near the 279mm depth on this machine. I cant even cut at 270mm. I’m not sure it this is a stupid mistake on my part as I’ve never tried to cut anything this size before, however it’s now an issue I need to solve.

I’ve attached a screen grab of my GF UI, the board i need to cut is right to the edge of the crumb tray, but it looks like the GF is telling me the printable area is below the tray. The item in the picture is 270mm deep.

Any help as always would be appreciated.

Hello, sorry to hear you’re having trouble.

When you move the design around do any gray “curtains” appear around the edge of the screen? If so, could you post a photo of those? :slight_smile: if the cutting area is truly down that far, you could possibly remove the crumb tray and use something that doesn’t have a front lip to raise your material and also be able to position it correctly. There are a couple raiser designs on the forums, but those are usually for items that wouldn’t otherwise fit vertically on the tray.

Either way, GF probably wants to know if the usable area ended up off the crumb tray somehow.

First you have to set at the proper focal height, Secondly you would have to make sure that the translation from your software to the screen is correct. A slightly different DPI from expectations will throw it off, You are trying to squeeze in piece to the last millimeter so things can get tricky there, and everything has to be correct. If the wood is not absolutely level that can throw it off too.