Cutting Board Settings

Hi. I am new to engraving on our glowforge. I always cut. I am trying to figure out this focus height stuff. My engraved image is really deep into the cutting board and I really just want it kind of skimmed across the top of it. The board isn’t even really appealing as a decoration because of the depth.

The board:
3/8" thick bamboo cutting board

Settings:

• Unknown material set to 3/8"
  • crumb tray in
  • speed 1000
  • DPI 340
  • power full (I have the pro)
  • focus height .375"

The issue I am having is I still don’t understand focus height. I am taking based on reading boards that focus height is the height of the material since it already knows the height of the crumb tray under it.

What am I doing wrong? I want to actually use it as a cutting board gift with hardly feeling the engraving when rubbing your hand across the board.

Advice is greatly appreciated so I can get some clarity on why it is engraving deep.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Support cannot help with non proofgrade settings and your issue is not about something not working so I moved it to beyond the manual where such discussions are supposed to go.

It is probably not a good idea to cut where it ha been engraved in any case as food can be more easily trapped and harder to clean but can improve things a lot hanging on the wall for use showing your design on it.

Bamboo will darken very easily so higher speed or lower power will not cut as deep. The distance between hardly scorched and black is short on most things but even worse on bamboo so you do not want variable power as that will make it all black and deeper where darker. Using the dot pattern system every dot is the same power but they are farther apart where the design is light and closer where it is dark. Higher LPI will be darker but finer detail but by increasing speed you can lighten the image.

Using a sacrifice piece to test various settings is the best route.

4 Likes

Welcome to the forum.