Cutting mandalas

I’ve been using the Glowforge for about 6 months trying to find my niche. I’m drawn to multi layer items and mandalas. I use 1/8" baltic birch for my items. Even immediately after a good cleaning, my items still aren’t being cut all the through. I have my settings on 185 speed and full power. I pin the wood down very, very well. Should I be using different settings? I’ve tried, but have gotten charring or barely cut at all. I can’t afford Proofgrade. I make too many mistakes to waste that kind of money.

1 Like

I have a pro and my settings are drastically different to yours for the 3mm Baltic Birch I get from Rockler.

Suggest you find one of the dozens of threads that discuss how to test for your material, and test various settings to see what works for you and your machine. What works for one will not always work for another.

3 Likes

I’ve tried to find information on here, but have had no luck. What setting do you use on the baltic birch?

1 Like

You should just test different settings on a corner of each piece. You will very soon get a knack for it and know a good setting to test first. Then it’s just a tweak higher or lower to dial it in. All you need is a small circle or square. Try what you think might work then adjust until you get the perfect result.

3 Likes

Get a bright flashlight, turn off the lights in the room, and shine the flashlight through your sheet of baltic birch. You will find some dark spots on most sheets where the light isn’t coming through. Those are glue pockets filling what were voids in the inner ply of the BB. Your laser will not cut through those pockets at any speed. It doesn’t have enough power. This is a material problem, not a machine problem. It’s characteristic of Baltic Birch and how BB is constructed, so it doesn’t matter who you buy it from either.