Cutting vinyl sticker sheets

I’m fairly new to this crazy laser-powered world, so forgive me if this is a silly question, but I was wondering if the Glowforge would be sensitive enough to be capable of cutting shapes in vinyl sticker paper (or, say, Avery Label sheets, for example) without going completely through the backing paper?

For simple shapes and designs, it would be fine to just burn straight through - backing and all … but for some more complex designs, I could see you wanting to cut only the sticker shape out, but keeping the entire design in tact on the backing paper. Is that a pipe dream?

Thanks!

4 Likes

Not a pipe dream at all! Aside from pure power sensitivity, there are lots of tricks we can play to encourage the backing piece to hold together. That being said, every sticker sheet is going to be a little different, and factors like how thick the backing sheet is will make a huge difference. Soon we’re going to start testing laser applications like this that really push the precision of the technology.

One important thing: While many materials are safe to laser (especially with an enclosed air filter), vinyl is the big one to avoid.

7 Likes

Don’t cut vinyl sheets, pvc, or “contact paper”. These materials emit chlorine gas (among other things) and will harm you, your laser’s lens and many other things. ALWAYS look up the msds for materials you plan on cutting–just because the device has an air filter, doesn’t mean you should cut everything with it. Another example of a material you may not want to cut is plywood. Many people cut plywood, and this is fine, but the glue contains–and emits–formaldehyde. I’ve also found it doesn’t cut that well, since the glue tends to melt and refract the laser. Better you use solid hardwood boards like poplar as these are not hard to find at big box stores.