Decorative Wood Gate

Hi,
My name is Kelly and I am just getting started with my Glowforge. Lots to learn but having a great time. This might be considered my first “real project”. We needed a gate at our front porch door so that we could leave the door open for the breeze, but keep the dog inside. My husband constructed a custom wood gate to coordinate with the fence we built last year, and we used the GF to create removable decorative panels . We have started with the house numbers, but plan to make seasonal designs to switch in & out. I created the panel shapes and numbers in Autocad, saved as PDFs, then converted to SVGs in Adobe Illustrator. We were painting the panels so I didn’t worry too much about a bit of burn on the edges. IMG_3312

(Piper the dog peaking through the ‘4’)

84 Likes

Yeah, I’ve never had this much fun with a tool.
Nice work!

4 Likes

Looks great!

5 Likes

I love this, great idea, nice execution!

Check your PMs for a message from me. :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Oh, very nice! Love the numbers built into the gate! :grinning:

4 Likes

Great practical solution. :sunglasses:

2 Likes

Amazing design! I love the idea of changing them out for various seasons and holidays. Don’t forget to show us when you make new ones!

3 Likes

What a great use and execution! I’m sure Piper appreciates such an elegant barrier to freedom :sunglasses:

2 Likes

It looks amazing! Well done.

1 Like

Excellent start. Very nice.

I am always interested in seeing things made that are bigger than a Glowforge bed. The wood looks very thick, is it more than 1/4"?

A most elegant design!

That is impressive. It’s really nice.

That’s a really nice addition to the gate. Great creativity!

If this is your first project, I can’t wait to see what’s coming!

I think I would have done the 0 with a stencil or scroll saw font.

But this way leaves a place for doggie noses to poke out. :slight_smile:

7 Likes

As Piper peers out the 4 instead of the 0… :grin:

4 Likes