Deleting lines on an index card?

recipefront.pdf (58.0 KB)

Hi- I am trying to eliminate the lines on the index card. I tried GIMP but no luck with youtube help. I am a teacher and do not have a photo shop license. Also tried the magic eraser app which helped but did not get all of the lines.

Here’s one of the more recent topics on this, which has a lot of good information and pointers to other topics.

6 Likes

It would be much easier if you have a colour photo of the recipe - but it is doable in GIMP. Basically you use the eraser tool to delete all the things you don’t want. Start large, and then zoom in closer and closer until what you don’t want isn’t there.

Here’s what it’ll look like as you begin

…but colour would mean you could select that and delete as a command!

3 Likes

Ok-I was going off the video in the other post that suggested making black/white first. thanks!

Sorry, but this project is destined to fail as is, you need a much better resolution photo.

I agree with dierdrebeth, it can be done, but this low resolution photo is never going to give you a good result. I don’t use her methods, I prefer to work with curves to isolate the colors, but you can’t expect to get a better result than the quality of the original image with engravings. You simply need a high quality image to start before you can even attempt to clean it up.

Ideally, you’d have a scanner to get it done, but a photo can work – to get best results, be sure to have good lighting and make sure the camera is dead level to the recipe.

If you have the original and the lines are a different color, Gimp can select by color very easily. Looking at what you have now the scattered pixels are hard to even read, it has degraded so much I would be surprised if you could get anything.

Which only works with a colour image :slight_smile: That’s how I do it too.

2 Likes

Welp, there you go, I spoke too soon. That’s much better.