Dodecahedron Project

This looks like a perfect project for a glowforge.

33 Likes

Being a physicist, I love the geometry and form that went into that to make it a visual art form. One of the things I hope to make on my GF. - Rich

5 Likes

A dodecahedron is the first thing I attempted to draw up in Fusion360, for eventual construction with GlowForge-cut pieces.

My most fundamental challenge arose from the desire for solid edges, without the regular rectangular pattern of an intersecting cut hinge.

My eventual goal on that front is to separately create a jig for beveling the edges of each face, for a solid joint at each edge. --a work in progress for thicker materials like acrylic or wood. The beveling shouldn’t be necessary for card-stock, however, so that can be the initial test material.

I’m anxiously awaiting the exciting times ahead!

10 Likes

Just out of curiosity, would it be faster to cut the sections on the GF. Then make a template to set the angle on a table saw, and bevel on that?

4 Likes

I saw this the other day and thought the same thing. Really beautiful stuff!

The trick, though, would be to figure out how to use the forge to make the joints as well.

1 Like

Oooohhh, add this to my wants

1 Like

Ooooh! Time for another Christmas ornament @Kusmeroglu?

4 Likes

I was imagining a template/jig for a dremel tool rotary attachment, as I’ve no table saw. But I like your idea! Exactly the kind of thing I’m thinking about. Use new tools to build newer tools! :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Is there anyway to make a router table for a dremel? Then a jig at an angle, or the dremel at an angle.

I’m figuring that’s where the GF comes in, for fashioning such a jig out of, say, wood or maybe delrin.

1 Like

I have a dremel router table (Was mentioned in other earlier thread). Would be perfect for edges like these.

12 Likes