Dollhouse kitchen and request for help

I’ve designed a dollhouse kitchen in illustrator and cut it on the GF. I’m thrilled with the results and can’t wait to complete it. Here is my request for help: I’m new to Illustrator and the learning process is SLLLLOOOOOWWWW. I want to do a french window grid (photo 2) on the upper cabinets. Does anyone have a svg file they’d be willing to share? Or an easy idea how to create one? I’m sure there are plenty of ideas on this but, again, I’m a beginner and a rectangle with rounded corners is about as technical as I can get.

12 Likes

I’m an Illustrator user, have been using for about 4 years now. I guess I’m confused what you’re asking for. It seems all you need to make these windows is rectangles, and you appear to have rectangles figured out pretty well. What’s your struggle here? A window like this would just be a rectangle with smaller rectangles to make the bars.

To combine shapes into one so that it will cut properly, select two or more shapes that overlap, go to Pathfinder and click merge/combine.

7 Likes

If I did that, I would have cuts at the joints because I don’t know how to erase lines (like I said, beginner) but I’m thinking maybe I could do two rows of 3 rectangles and use the negative image for the grid pattern. I’m going to try that.

Let me slap together a file for you real quick, then I’ll walk you through the setup.

3 Likes

Very simple in Illustrator.

1. Make an overall rectangle the size of the outer edge of the door. (Whatever dimensions you want for one door.)

2. Use Offset Path to create a smaller rectangle inside of it. That rectangle would be what you would get if you drew a point to point rectangle around the outer edges of the windows. (Select the 1st rectangle > Object > Path> Offset Path. Enter a negative number.)

1. Select the center rectangle. Split it into a grid.

Object> Path> Split into Grid.

Use a fixed value for the Gutter and set the number of rows and columns you want.