Elementary applications for the GF

Hey Folks,

I am a kindergarten teacher and am highly anticipating the arrival of the glowforge. I don’t know how many primary school teachers there are out there but I was wondering about ideas for classroom use. I work with my kids on several computer programs including sketch up and various paint programs so designing lessons around those will be fairly straight forward.

I also had an idea to take care of letter tiles we use on a weekly basis with the kids. As we learn to sound out words we use plastic tiles and they tend to get really dirty and I don’t like to use them when we have a cold going around. So in our lunchroom we have a plethora of cardboard handy so I can just cut out a set for each kid and then send them home. I have tried to do this with paper before, but they didn’t hold up too well over the course of a week.

Any ideas from the community would be fantastic!

13 Likes

Is this for kindergarteners only?

I’m not sure of the learning expectations/lessons plans at that age.

Are the kids learning about primary/secondary colors? @smcgathyfay did some experimenting with toner ink the other day. I wonder what would happen if you mixed powder together from different primary colors - if it would make a secondary color. That would be a neat experiment (could replicate with paint, but hey, why not use a laser?

3 Likes

Yes…mixing the powders probably will give secondary colors…didnt get the chance to play today but have ideas on Wednesday…

2 Likes

That could be a fun and interesting idea. We did a color day but this could be a final project or something that they could take home after we learn how to make secondary colors.

3 Likes

Oooo keep me posted. Color day was a blast so adding something like this to it would be awesome.

2 Likes

Well similar to the letters I could see cutting cardboard numbers and + - = signs for basic counting and arithmetic.
How about puzzles with simple words on them?