Engraving and painting acrylic

This is probably obvious to most people, but I have very little experience painting things (I’m not sure I’ve ever operated a can of spray paint), so I figured I’d document the trivial bit of experience I gained because it would have saved me quite a bit of experimentation.

I’m planning to make some control panels in the near future and I thought that black acrylic with white lettering would be nice. So I wanted to find the best way to score or engrave and use the masking as a stencil. I could still fine tune this a bit, but I’m getting decent results after a number of tries (left side):

My best results came from an engrave at speed 1000, power 20, vary power, min power 20 (well, 19.8), 340 LPI. The goal is to just blow away the masking without making a deep engrave, otherwise the paint won’t get down into it. Then I sprayed it it with this stuff:

My painting was sloppy and rushed, so I’m pretty sure I could get nice crisp edges by taking some time. Those are very thin features: just 1 point around the outside edge. Scoring was not successful: I couldn’t find a power/speed setting that could cut the outline of a 1pt line while leaving it intact.

27 Likes

I’ve been using acrylic paint and an art brush and have been getting good results as well. I’ll have to try the spray.

3 Likes

A brush might have gotten into the crevices better on the deeper engraves and scores. I brought a bunch of stuff back from the craft store today so I’m slowly working may way through it.

4 Likes

They make syringes for paint. https://www.amazon.com/Precision-Applicators-Dispense-Pack-Rockler/dp/B01GWCVBKW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1506900339&sr=8-1&keywords=paint+syringe

You just fill with paint and squeeze as you move the syringe to let the paint flow into the engraved areas. Some people will use a toothpick to help even out the paint.

I’m sure you can find them cheaper since these are Rockler brand.

11 Likes