Epilog question?

Hello. Does anybody here has an Epilog?

Today I went to check one out and I was very impressed with the speed and the amount of details shown even in the thinnest lines of my design. The only problem I am having is the “texture” of the engraved area.

Since I am no expert using an Epilog I just had to believe whatever the salesman was telling me but I am sure if anybody here that actually has a GF AND an Epilog can probably show me some light.

All my designs are always vector files (usually PDF) that I engrave using the GF. I know when you try to engrave something using the GF and is not vector (picture, image, etc) it shows a different style of engraving menu where you get to choose dots, pattern, vary power etc. This does NOT happen when the artwork is a vector file and I think that is what happened today at the Epilog show room. I kept seeing that similar menu every time the guy was sending my sample file to print, it had the dots/ texture settings. It wasn’t a straight forward menu where he would just choose power, speed and dpi and GO.

The outcome was a texture that looks like very thin lines together that If I run my nail across them it will leave a mark. When I do it with my GF the texture is more like a burnt plastic or more like a sand paper that is durable and less easy to scratch but it is just because the way it is engraving my design (not using that dot, texture power menu)

Why the GFUI shows that menu for images and it doesn’t for vector files? What is the laser machine doing differently when it engraves either one? Is there a way for the Epilog to engrave like the GF when is NOT using the dots/texture? - If anybody here has an epilog, do you know what I am talking about?

This is a picture of the engraved texture I get with the GF (that I like because it makes my product more “Scratch proof” ) and the one I am got today with the Epilog that scratches super easy
texture