Error again. With auto focusing

I am getting the same error I got a couple days ago when I click SET Focus it shoots the red laser beam twice (instead of one) then drops an error saying glowforge couldnt focus and to refresh the browser. Already refreshed the browser, modem and glowforge twice. Problem persists. Last time I had to do it like 5 times!

What material are you using?

1/8 acrylic, the same I’ve been using for the past 2 months pretty much daily. It has masking, so it should read no problem

Again, after turning on and off the glowforge and closing and opening the browser. It finally worked again. Something has not been acting right since it started happening about 3-4 days ago

Are there previous cutouts in the material, or is it an uncut sheet? Also is there light shining into your machine that could be interfering with the focus?

There were cut outs but I was focusing on a very flat surface and far away from cut outs with plenty of flat area around it. Light has been the same for the past 2 months. It started working again after trying about 5-6 times. Strange!

Okay, you said “auto focus” so I was thinking the machine was selecting the location. Sounds like you were using “set focus.” Sorry.

Still might be worth lowering the light coming in from outside the machine, to see if it could be interfering. Mine is near a south-facing window, so there are times when I have to cover it so it can “see” what it’s doing.

Yes sorry, I meant set focus. Mine is in a place where lighting is always the same. I have also very thick blinds so the lighting is pretty controlled. It has just been acting up weird like this for the past few days and it only has done it 3 times

Okay. Hopefully Support can tell something by looking at your logs. It might help them if you could post some approximate dates/times (with time zone) to narrow their search. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks. Yes it happened 11:20pm (texas time) 10/12/2020