Fiduciary Alignment Ruler

I was reading about the fiduciary alignment ruler, But the message I got was this was a beta discussion that no longer exists
Does it exist and does it make perfect alignments

There were elements of that print that are no longer available (snapmarks). However, there have been some serious improvements made in the interface that have helped alignment a great deal. For absolutely precise alignment of designs onto objects, make a jig. For most applications, using the placement tool and set focus tool are enough to get pretty close.

6 Likes

If you want a full system so you can ignore the camera and still guarantee location of work, check out @MyDogsThinkImCrazy’s setups here:

https://community.glowforge.com/t/reinsertable-grid-file-and-tutorial/93366

and

4 Likes

Thanks
I’ve learned to set focus every time and yeah that’s usually pretty accurate.

1 Like

Thanks for being the helpful person you are.
I am new to this, and you have replied to so many of my questions. I really appreciate it.

4 Likes

Aw gee shucks :slight_smile: I’m glad I can help. I have learned so much from this forum it’s good to give back!

3 Likes

I find little to complain about with x-y alignment but rotation is another issue entirely. Snapmarks did a great job and I still have rulers with the snapmarks on them, but one degree off horizontal will have the ends 3/16 " different in height ten inches away so the difference in rotation between that and zero is hard to accomplish by eye…

2 Likes

Thanks so much for replying, everybody here, so helpful, but I’m so new to this I don’t know what snap marks are or how they would affect the rotation or whatever but I do appreciate how helpful everybody is,