First Print Error7/8/20

Is it possible for glowforge to send you a faulty laser machine? I just got mine and it won’t cut correctly. Proofgrade materials, good for measure won’t pop out.

All machines are tested and calibrated but they can be damaged in shipping.

Note the time of these prints so they can check the logs, and also show a picture of the back of the material.

the cherry wood was printed on 7/5 and again on 7/8
the draftwood was printed on 7/8

is there a way to look at a log to see what time you printed this? i am new to glowforge.

thank you!

Welcome! Did you use the “set focus” tool under the 3 dot menu before you ran the print?
I have developed the habit of holding the material so it can’t move, and using a piece of masking tape to see if the cut lifts out. If not, you can run the cut again and avoid wasting material.

If you’ve followed the troubleshooting steps for this issue, make note that here.

Support uses the GoGM print on the spare provided draftboard to diagnose issues. So after checking those things above, making certain the material is flat against the bed (it looks it from the sharpness of the print), print it again and take pics, post here with the time (and timezone) and they can check the logs to ensure the settings are correct.

If they are, then it’s likely the machine will need to be replaced.

Doing all of this in advance will save you time once they check in.

this is the pro and it has an auto focus feature. but thank you for the advice.

1 Like

Your welcome! All glowforges have autofocus, the “set focus” tool was developed to ensure precision focus at the surface of the material. it is a valuable addition to the feature set.

1 Like

print on 7/8/2020 at 6:00 pm central time
gift of good measure on medium draftboard

i also wiped down all the cameras
received the glowforge on 7/3/20

2 Likes