Florida-Based Home Business - Glowforge location and operation

Hello everyone,

I’ve been operating my GlowForge in Wisconsin since May 2020. I had it running in my garage and vented through a garage window without much issue. I was never bothered by the burn smell that filled my garage.

However, I have just (just over a week ago) moved to the suburbs of Orlando, Florida. The home I bought does not have garage windows (though I am guessing that this is common in Florida due to managing heat. My wife thought that we should operate our GlowForge in our laundry room and vent it through the laundry vent. I had a spare inline fan to accelerate the flow of air out through the ventilation system. I thought that I should wait for five minutes before I open the Glowforge to minimize the scent. Despite these efforts there is still a pervasive scent of burnt wood in my laundry room and I’ve only run the Glowforge for approximately an hour.

I am running a Blue Air Purifier in the room to try to get rid of the scent, but I do not expect that I’m going to be content with this option long term. My wife and I use the GlowForge for making products to sell and I’m loathe to shut down operations on this part of our business.

So, I was wondering if there was anyone else in Florida that could give me insight on a new place or way to operate my Glowforge safely while saving my upstairs from smelling like burnt wood.

In advance, I greatly appreciate any support, advice, or suggestions that you provide!

Michael

1 Like

With a proper ventilation set up you should not be smelling much of anything. That, I do know. I’m sure someone else in the community can give you some suggestions to resolve that.

3 Likes

If you’re only interested in feedback from FL residents, then I can’t help you.

I’m in GA, we have pretty warm and humid conditions here, and I’ve run my GF for over 4 years with no odor in the house.