Fonts in SVG

When loading a webpage with SVG on it, text contained within the SVG can differ in appearance because of differences in browsers. I assume that SVG files sent to the glowforge will be rendered on the cloud, so what’s my best chance of having the text appear on my object exactly like the image on my screen?

I’ve had stuff engraved before and it bugs me that the preview I saw in my browser didn’t match the physical object. I’m a programmer, so I’d prefer a method that I could automate, rather than opening the file in Inkscape and change stuff. Any ideas?

1 Like

Is it only text that changes or do other objects as well? If it’s just the text and the objects are fine it’s possible that the file is referencing a particular font that isn’t on the destination system. Not sure how to do it in inkscape, but converting font based text to outlines in illustrator usually gets the image to look identical across systems for me.

6 Likes

Yep. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I should have explained my problem better. Text in an SVG looks different in different browsers, even when the same font is specified. The following example is taken from:
http://www.w3.org/Graphics/SVG/IG/resources/svgprimer.html

Appearance of fonts in different browsers: ASV+IE, FF1.5 and Opera 9 respectively

Is there a way to specify a font that would appear the same regardless of browser, and by extension, print that way on the glowforge?

the answer is still to convert to outlines.
remove the “font” from the equation altogether.

13 Likes

Right – exactly what others are saying. The problem is that the text is still remaining a text. You want it to be a shape – just another outline like any other part of the svg, not a separate component open to interpretation. Once it’s just a line, everything will always be displayed exactly as intended.