GF won't engrave

I was engraving several things this morning, but I decided to do a calibration because it started the printing too far to the right ( about 1”). I have never done a calibration before.

I don’t have a full piece of PG anything so I used Baltic birch with no tape.

After calibration I tried to engrave something I have done a million times. Strangest thing: the print started with the right group when all previous prints started at the left. But worse, there were NO MARKS on the wood. I tried it with auto focus and manual focus: same results.

I then tried a score and it came out VERY light. I upped the power and the score was a huge line like a de-focused printing. I really regret doing a calibration.

But I performed another calibration. This time to closer approximate height of the draftwood I taped both sides – bottom side 2 layers making sure everything was very smooth.

Results: No engraving whatsoever. I tried manual focus at 3 different heights and an auto focus. I’m stumped. Any suggestions from anyone?

It’s unlikely the calibration had anything to do with the changes, but it’s frustrating !

SO - let’s figure out the basics

1. Go through and wipe down all 5 areas that need regular cleaning, and make sure your crumb tray is correctly in its divots, and the lens isn’t in upside down (if you didn’t clean the lens recently that shouldn’t be an issue)

2. Print a Gift of Good Measure (that has cut, score, and engrave) on a piece of proofgrade - post the time, and pictures of the front and back. Posting a picture of your full GFUI (showing all the steps can be helpful too)

We can help more once you’ve done that :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you. All mirrors and lenses cleaned this am. Attached are photos of gift of good measure. Printed stopped abut 1:46, so I believe started around 1:30.

gift settings|375x500

You are absolutely right, that looks WAY out of focus.