GFUI Feature Requests

Hey, all!

I’m a long-time graphic designer that’s just started to get my feet wet with lasers–my GF basic being my first, which I’ve had for about 2 weeks.

I love the possibilities and have been having fun testing out settings and materials. In my time doing so, I find myself wishing the GFUI had just a couple (seemingly simple) enhancements that could exponentially increase the usability of it. I didn’t see a forum category that was clearly ideal for this post, so thought putting it here would be best.

Since I’m new, it’s entirely possible that some of these requested features exist and I’m simply unaware of how to access them. If that’s the case, I thank you in advance for setting me straight. Without further ado, here’s my current feature wish list:

1. The ability to add instructions (or notes). The section is already there for purchased designs–it’d be nice for us to be able to add them to our own (such as “Layers 1 & 2 cut in 1/8”, 3 & 4 in 1/4"). This ties into…

2. The ability to name (or color) layers for reference.

3. [*EDIT Thanks to JB I know this is possible currently] The ability to change a setting (specifically material depth) DESIGN-wide that doesn’t adjust other manual settings. For instance, if I have a very involved design (25+ layers), and I want to cut it on a different depth material than the design was originally used on, I need to re-customize each of the layers just to tell it to do 1/4" now instead of 1/8". I have a test design I’m working on w/power, speed, and lpi variables that has over 300 layers, which is useless to do anything with currently, as manually adjusting settings for over 300 layers each time I use it on a different material (rather than just the one time) is unreasonable.