Glowfore UGH

Yesterday I noted that it had become impossible to Cut 0.4 and .05 material because of Focus Error.
I was told that the material i had been cutting for the last 2 years on the same tray was to high .

So we started to redesign a whole new platform to cut with.

But Today its like overnight we have a brand new machine and everything is cutting and no focus error so far today.

Unfortunately there must me some GAP between the Glowforge Team and Tech support.

Yesterday over 50 focus errors telling me my material was to thick , Now today we get ZERO issues and the old setup is back up and running.

None of it makes any sense to me. but its frustrating I will tell you that much.

With 0.5" material you’re actually lucky you’ve gotten it to work at all, since you’re right at the maximum height the GF can accommodate. On my machine it’s actually a little less than that. Any little variation in the thickness over that surface is going to be enough to make it too tall, and result in an error. Wood is a naturally variable material – you can’t expect it to be perfectly flat, and it’s going to respond to fluctuations in weather / humidity as well. It’s weird that you want to blame the company for your not being able to work outside the documented operating parameters.

2 Likes

There’s a workaround, it’s really easy.

So, .4 material should work just fine on the crumb tray. Have you checked its exact thickness for yourself or are you taking the word of the manufacturer?
The other thickness you mentioned (.05) is what? Paper?
If you meant .5 then again did you check it with calipers? Did you try taking out the crumb tray and propping it up within 1/2 inch of the laser? Those are things I would try.

1 Like

Im not blaming , i am merely pointing out that some things dont make sense .

We dont cut wood or any other material that would be effected by Weather .

We have been cutting the same material in the same spot with the same settings for the last 2 years .