Glowforge isn't calibrated, I think

I’m new to Glowforge so forgive me if I’m missing something obvious. But it seems like the camera isn’t calibrated properly and I’m not sure what to do about it.

I’ve attached a screenshot of the app setup of a project along with a photo of the final product. The laser isn’t hitting the area of the material that it should based on the app interface.

Also (possibly related), though you can’t really tell from this screenshot, the Glowforge app shows a good amount of the bottom of the bed including the white part of the machine itself (the fold-down door) during setup.

Am I just overlooking something here?

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.
I suggest you run the lid camera calibration. https://app.glowforge.com/maintenance/camera-recalibrator

Also, always use the set focus tool before placing your artwork.

2 Likes

Feel free to use scrap cardboard/anything the size of the bed, held down, so as not to waste good materials.

This makes me think it could be a focus issue. The GF needs a very exact material height before you can accurately place your artwork. Did you use set focus on your material, or did you use calibers and enter the measurement manually?

This is the bed image your fish-eye camera sees and it uses the material measurement to flatten it. (This is also why alignment is worse in the corners and best directly under the camera. )

If you wanted to post up a screen shot of your entire GFUI from the name of the machine on the right all the way to the type of material on the left - and down to the bottom we could let you know if what you’re seeing is outside “normal”

With a square that small though, it’s likely that the focus laser is missing your material, so it thinks it’s paper thin instead of about 1/4" thick. The easiest way to fix that is to cut a square into something of a similar thickness and put the tile into that hole - then the laser can focus either on the tile or your jig and have the same height.