Glowforge not importing what Inkscape shows

New glowforge owner here. I took an image and did a color overlay in inkscape to make it all flat black. I have tried several different saves and programs (inkscape and photoshop) but Glowforge keeps importing a multi-color image for the engrave.

These are the images I can see… what the heck… https://imgur.com/a/KwYZPXh

Are you trying to cut out the “gear” in the photo you posted? :sunglasses:

If so, it should not be an bitmap “image”.

Hey thanks for the reply. I am not sure where that setting should be for bitmap. The circle cut is working fine, my issue is that Inkscape shows a flat black gear image for a consistent engrave, but Glowforge thinks there are still “shadows” on the image. Why would glowforge display a different image than what I uploaded?

I am brand new to glowforge and inkscape, although I have years of experience with photoshop.

Just curious why you would label your pictures on Imgur as “Broken Glowforge”? This is not the machines fault it is your mistake.

2 Likes

Photoshop is a pixel pusher. It has some rudimentary vector tools but that’s Illustrator’s realm. You want to trace that gear bitmap in inkscape (I use illustrator so I’m no help there). That will give you a vector to cut. Bitmaps can only be engraved. Go to youtube and search for inkscape trace bitmap. I’m sure you’ll find plenty of videos to teach you how to do it.

(and I’m with beerfaced… this is entirely an end user problem, not glowforge.)

1 Like

If you want to load the SVG file here, someone can take a look at it and tell you what you need to do to fix it. I’m not sure how you created your overlay, but it obviously was not picked up for processing…what you are seeing there is the hidden bitmap underneath the overlay. (That needs to be deleted when you are done with it if you don’t want it to show in the Glowforge interface.)

Add the SVG file to a post here, and can you tell us a little more about how you created the Overlay?