Glowy Colorado Fun

The last time that I went to Denver, I had wanted to meet up with @PrintToLaser for a beer, but the timing just wasn’t right. So on this latest trip I made plans prior to leaving (imagine that!) and although it was way too short of a trip, I was able to carve out a chunk of time on the first night while my girlfriend was going out with her sisters to see Ween.

TL:DR :glowforge:= :squee:, :proofgrade:= :squeee:, @PrintToLaser= :squeeee:

My girlfriend, her sisters, and their boyfriends were wary of me going off by myself to meet a ‘stranger from the internet’, until I reminded them that I was driving myself to a known location to see someone with whom I have been interacting for almost two years and who is technically a client of mine (he bought a sign a while back), while they were going to their concert in an Uber… getting into a car with a ‘total stranger from the internet’.

They did not need to worry about me.

@PrintToLaser greeted me warmly at the door and brought me downstairs, where he had my favorite beer (Avery’s White Rascal) cold and waiting in the fridge. We took a quick tour of his workshop, where I saw his slide-out GF mount, ducting setup, jewelers bench, and stash of proofgrade materials, which he generously offered to let me use!

We went over to his design computer, where he was about to show me the GFUI, but he paused and said, “wait, let me grab something first, else I’ll ruin the surprise.”

I had to have Budders put down just a few days before this trip, so this memorial piece really means a lot; I was given the chance to bring him up to mountains (where we spent so many great years) one last time. It also happens to match his urn. I had to bottle up my emotions when he presented it, so that I would continue to be functional for the rest of the evening; luckily, the excitement and wonder of using the GF combined with @PrintToLaser’s enthusiasm and good energy made it pretty easy.