HELP...Can I cut wood which is 1/2 inch thick?

I am hoping someone can help me. I need to cut a 1 1/2 " hole in the middle of a 1/2" thick wood board. The wood species is not that important as long as I can get it locally and it’s not extraordinarily expensive. I do need it not to burn too much under the masking, but other than that, I’m very open to suggestions. So tell me GF Community, am I barking up an impossible tree? And, of course, I am a relatively new woodworker and definitely new Glowforge user. Thanks Users!!!

1 Like

Depends on the kind of wood, and the kind of machine you have. I cut some nominal 1/2" basswood (actual calipered measurement 0.38") the other day with a Pro in one pass.

So yeah, it’s feasible with multiple passes on lightweight woods. With the Pro. (No guarantees on the other machines.)

3 Likes

i have not had great success getting through thick material cleanly, although I’ve had my best luck with cedar boards (nominal 1/2", callipered at 0.43"). Cleanest cuts I got involved multiple passes, setting the focal height lower with each pass.

circle cut with multiple passes, no focal height adjustment. Charcoal-like finish on the sides. rectangle had the adjustments, less charing but still evident. no masking used.

Circle has more obvious flare-burns, rectangle has more of an even shading effect.

2 Likes

honestly, if you just need to cut a 1.5" hole in a thick piece of wood, i would pick up a hole cutter for my drill and just drill it out. it will take less time, make less mess, and make you less unhappy.

13 Likes

Thanks so much. Would you mind sharing your settings with me? I know I will have to fool around with them but it would be great to have a place to start!. Thanks again.