Help compare alternatives

I’ve signed up for a Basic 40w GlowForge, but I’m starting to think it’s overkill for what I’ll be doing with it, especially given the cost and repeated delays. I’m eyeballing the current crop of 40w chinese systems on ebay -

http://www.ebay.com/itm/40W-CO2-Laser-Engraving-Cutting-Machine-Engraver-Cutter-USB-Port-High-Precise-/142243645892

http://www.ebay.com/itm/High-Precise-40W-CO2-Laser-Engraving-Cutting-Machine-Engraver-Cutter-USB-Port-/132063047369

I am a hobbyist, mostly cutting low quantities of mdf and acrylic for my own amusement, maybe some foam for packing (don’t know if that’s possible, but think it must be…). So what are the features of the GF that these cheaper systems won’t be able to do? Basically, I’m trying to assess if it’s worth the extra $1800 and a seemingly ever expanding amount of months more.

5 Likes

Go to FaceBook and read some of the comments there on the Chinese lasers and the problems they are having. Just the peace of mind of a US made unit and a support staff is more than worth the price to me.

11 Likes