Help im new

Help this is my first time. I can seem to get my image to engrave sharply and i placed a cut rectangle around the image and it didnt cut it only seem to engrave and it didnt seem that sharp. The image was converted from a png file to a svg file with in Adobe Illustrator. I have attached a few pics that may help you see my computer screen and the actual print. if there is a link that anyone knows of that may help me get my first custom print done please attach. Thank you kindly in advance.

Welcome to the forum.

I can see in your photos that you cut the Gift of Good Measure. I hope you found that experience as fun as many of us did when we got our Glowforge. Next step, the other tutorials so you get a good idea of how the interface works. https://support.glowforge.com/hc/en-us/articles/360033633354-Make-Your-First-Prints

3 Likes

My guess, and I can only guess from the limited information here, is that you started with a low resolution bitmap or scan, and saved it from Illustrator as an SVG containing the same low resolution bitmap. You then scaled it up in the Glowforge interface. That’s why it’s not sharp.

It’s also not cutting anything because you need to use a vector to cut.

5 Likes

Yes the gift of good measure cut great. However when i loaded my logo. It didnt print so well. im trying to figure it out

Ok let me research it. I thought the file was just a simple png file that i could open in adobe illustrator and then save as a SVG file and that was all that was needed.
Im just getting started and ill need to learn a bit more about how to make it a high resolution file i guess and save as a vector cut file?