Help make shapes without Premium Subscription

Hey Everyone,

Is there any way to use the glowforge shapes without having to get the premium subscription?? I literally only use the circle to create a cutting path around leather patches. I’m new to all this but I was kinda bummed when all of a sudden I couldn’t add a shape without paying for it.

-Sarah

Before they had Premium (& in fact I still do this) I had a set of shapes - square, circle & lines in a file. I’d just use the add artwork button and grab the file and overlay it on the project I was doing so I could add a quick circle or something.

6 Likes

Welcome to the forum.

There are plenty of ways to get the shapes without the premium subscription. The easiest way is to use this file from the Free Files Section. Cut Shapes Template

9 Likes

Welcome!
You’re going to have a ball figuring all this stuff out… I did. It’s a treasure hunt in understanding.

3 Likes

Sorry, don’t think you can.
But you’ll really will help yourself by getting Inkscape (free) and learning how to create the basic shapes there (as svg files)–as it gets you on the learning curve for more complicated designs.

And once you’re used to loading from your own directory, it can be faster to load the shape from your file than open the Shapes, select circle, then change the size to what you want…

And you can Import any image for etching and combine with the shape and save the file, and then load into the GFUI–really does save a lot of time and also means you can save & reload & reprint that image as often as you want when it’s your own file.

And I often Ignore a shape I won’t be using for a while and then activate it again when needed instead of deleting and loading again later…