Help with inkscape for a design cut

Hi! So, I’m trying to figure out how I can keep the center of this pattern intact when I cut it. I have tried so many different ways and when I cut it it doesn’t leave the center intact which I would like to engrave on. I am cutting this design out of wood. Basically if you look at the design I want all the black to be what is left when I cut it. Any ideas? Thank you in advance!!!

You will have to add score lines to the yellow parts. I am not very good at Inkscape so someone will have to suggest how to score those parts.

Tat makes sense…not sure how though in inkscape. lol

2 Likes

Right click and save as, Just drag and drop it on your dashboard, it should give you what you want.

SVG Design

I dropped it in Inkscape, And then ‘Edit/Trace Bitmap’. Then 'Object/Fill & ‘Stroke’/No fill, ‘Stroke’ - set to black.
Try that on a scrap to test it for what you want.

6 Likes

YOU ARE AMAZING!!! THANK YOU! IT WORKED PERFECTLY! :pray: :pray:

4 Likes

Spiral Circle
Try this one, The red outline is cut, should leave the center to be able to engrave. Good Luck

4 Likes

You’re welcome!

It’s this community that’s amazing, that’s where I learned it.
Any time you spend learning Inkscape will open the door to releasing your creativity, it will pay back in spades.
There is a very good YouTube channel called “Logos by Nick”, you can find a tutorial for every tool or procedure in Inkscape there. Seriously, spend a couple of hours learning the program and you’re all set!

4 Likes

Thank you so much!!!

Just subscribed to it!
Thank you!

2 Likes

I have been with the Glowforge community over 3 years. The generosity and kindness from everyone is the number one reason I am still here.

4 Likes

Yes, anytime I need help someone is always there!
BTW, I have two Westies! Roman and Nico.

2 Likes

You are so blessed to have 2 Westies!!

We have never had two Westies at the same time.