Hey Utah peoples!

Tagging some people that I have seen mention they are in Utah. @mspricethelibrarian @cmreeder (there are more but I can only mention 2 people as a newbie I guess @ vern @ winkelkotter @ tuck)

Where do you source materials locally? I have collected a few that I have researched (linked below), but haven’t been to any of them yet. Wondering if you have had good/bad experiences with any of them or if I am missing some.

goo.gl/maps/WQVedoPaAzD2

1 Like

MacBeaths is great for Baltic birch plywood…you can get it in 5’x5’ sheets. (We cut ours down ourselves but I think I saw a sign last time that they will also do cuts for $2 each?) We’ve gotten both 1/8 and 1/4 thick.

If you need smaller sheets of those two thicknesses, you can get 12”x12” sheets at Woodcraft on 90th south. It will be more expensive ($2-4 depending on thickness, if I remember right) but if you just need a little they are great. They also sell a variety of smaller sheets of hardwoods and veneer.

Delvies Plastics is excellent for acrylics…they will custom cut sheet sizes for you but they also sell scrap clear acrylic at really good prices. You can also ask for a sample set and they’ll give you little chips of each color. It’s best if you call ahead or email them to tell them what you want so they can get it ready ahead of time.

edit

By the way, welcome! :blush: Always nice to have more Glowforging neighbors!

4 Likes

I was going to spill my secrets, but @mspricethelibrarian told two of them to me to begin with.
Those are easily the best.
If the UGFUG (Utah Glowforge User Group) wants to buy a beam of anything at Macbeath and have them re-saw for smaller more laserable bits, then we may be approaching a big enough group.
Welcome to active forging.

@vern @Tuck @winkelkotter @cdoug you want in on this topic?

4 Likes