How much can I charge for engrave 5,000 popsicle sticks?

the client is going to provide the sticks.
is safe to do on my glowforge plus?

Do some math…

Assuming you can jig up 150 at a time, that’s over 30 iterations of a full-bed engrave - which takes over an hour. That’s assuming only one side, and not including setup and such.

How much is a week of your time worth?

8 Likes

Popsicle sticks are dirt cheap. Buy 50 and try to figure out how long it will take. Don’t worry about what you will engrave, but how. Then you will have an idea how much.

8 Likes

You can charge whatever you want. The question is really what your client is willing to pay.

My question for you, though, is whether you WANT to engrave 5000 popsicle sticks. It seems like a giant pain. But I do agree that you might try engraving a handful of them and deciding if this is how you want to spend your time. As a freelancer, I add a “PITA tax” to quotes for things I’m less excited about. That way, if the client is still on board, I get a bonus to do something I’m not thrilled with. That tax gets higher and higher for clients I don’t enjoy, etc. This is actually how I bought my Glowforge - I charged some absurd amount of money to do some work for someone I knew would be a nightmare. I lasted two months (part-time, contract) before I couldn’t deal with her, but it was enough to justify buying a GF.

15 Likes

Well Played.

as a side note when I was turning pens. Hmmm need to do that so now I can engrave them. at any rate. I always put a base amount per pen aside from materials cost and time. that way I was never giving my work away for free.

PITA tax. what a great name. :slight_smile:

7 Likes

I don’t do any custom Glowforge work for less than $100/hour of machine time. I don’t add labor on top of that, the math just seems to work out well for a good profit margin when I start with that rule. So this would be a $4500 job minimum. Might as well round it up to $1 per popsicle stick – $5000.