How precise is the Glowforge?

I guess my question is, how small of a dot can I make, AND, what is the minimum distance between dots?

I am new to all this. I am trying to think of all things I could use the Glowforge for. Could I, for example, use it to create gratings or lenses? Thanks all!

Hi @omar.bakht. Welcome!

Some of the answers you are looking for are here.

Positioning precision to 0.001” (0.025mm)
Engraving at 1000 DPI with 256 power levels

The spot size is a little more difficult to quantify.

Laser Quality — Beam diameter of less than 5mm at aperture and divergence of less than 1.2 mrad

At the focal point, its dependent on the material.

Here is a thread where they talk about it some more.

I believe someone else was talking about wanting to make Fresnel lenses with their Glowforge.

8 Likes

You wouldn’t be able to make a “dot” any smaller than the kerf (~ .008" I believe). The accuracy of .001", would be location precision of the bipolar stepper motors that drive the X and Y axis. The pros can maybe correct me on this if I’m misunderstanding things.

2 Likes

there’s also the consideration that the kerf is the width of the ablated material and doesn’t (as far as I know) include the burnt edge to either side. So if the question of smallest dot is actually asking the smallest hole it could create, then a hole with a .008" diameter is the theoretical limit. But if you were trying to mark the smallest visible dot, I imagine it depends largely on the material and power settings but will be larger.

2 Likes

At lower powers you might be able to make a dot smaller than the kerf, because the intensity falls off toward the edges of the beam. But I wouldn’t want to count on that for production. And certainly not without a long test process.

1 Like