How to save as PDF, not as internet file

****edited to add: I found a way to set the default app to something else, but now I can’t find a pdf app for windows 10 that will let me edit the document in inkscape. Does anyone have an idea? I tried Sumatra PDF but it doesn’t allow edits. Thanks!

Hi,
I’m having a problem that keeps cropping up, and google searches aren’t helping…
I recently got a new computer and every time I try to design a file or use an application (such as a box generator), it saves as an epdf instead of an actual PDF, basically just saving the link. Therefore I am unable to make edits in Inkscape. I’m a newbie (just getting started with design), but I never had this problem with my old computer! Anyone know how I can change this? Is there some sort of settings I’m missing TIA!
5 inch box.pdf (15.6 KB)

Maybe tied to the settings? Do the programs you’re using have an option to save as another file type? (sometimes they are really sneaky about it). If not, may just be that program just doesn’t allow it…

My limited experience with Inkscape is it’s vector based–I’ve not tried opening a pdf file with it. You may be able to import it, though.

1 Like

When the eFile opens up, right click on it and choose Save As from the popout. It should download to your usual Downloads folder.

You might be right, but I did find that make a box website through this forum: https://makeabox.io/

I just assumed it would be compatible somehow?

Thanks for the help, but it just gives the option “save link as…”. Do you know if Inkscape is able to edit pdf files? Or do they have to be svg?

Using a Windows10 laptop at makeabox.io, once you click on the Download PDF button, a copy of that PDF is automatically saved to your Downloads folder.

If you want to open that in Inkscape, open Inkscape and choose File> Import. Then browse to your Downloads folder to open it.

1 Like