I am an idiot! Help with Inkscape or Affinity

Hi, I am a newbie and just messed up big. I have been using Inkscape for design and spent the time from when I ordered my GF to when it arrived in late February. Things were working smoothly and I was learning lots. Even got my first order!

But when I went to engrave my order, something wasn’t working right. Everything was incredibly slow. Placing the repeated design where it needed to be was taking minutes to move fractions of an inch. So I rebooted, then updated my Mac in case that was the problem. FORGOT TO CHECK IF INKSCAPE WORKS ON OS 11 BIG SUR. It doesn’t, which I found out after installing and reinstalling Inkscape. So now I have NO working design app.

My college student’s boyfriend says that he can take my Mac back to Catalina in about a 1/2 hour. Googled that and it involves putting everything into the cloud and wiping the hard drive. I am TERRIFIED. My other option would be try to reinstall and learn Affinity to get the order filled. (I used the trial in December but liked some aspect from Inkscape better).

If it were you, what would you do?
Does Affinity work well with GF?
The design is mostly text? Should I expect problems with printing?
Thanks for hanging in and reading this far! If you have any crumbs to throw my way, I sure would appreciate it!

1 Like

There are a number of us here who use Affinity for designing. :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Good to know, a reason not to go to Big Sur. I have a hard copy of PhotoShop CS6 extended i have used for years. I got a new Mac with Big Sur and it’s no longer supported. So sad, now i have to go upstairs to do any photo work, very inconvenient!!

2 Likes

I also use Affinity. Actually, it’s not a matter of whether it “works well” with the Glowforge. The GF doesn’t care what design app you use, it only cares about the format that is presented to it.

4 Likes