I have an Affinity

Hope I’ve chosen the right place to post this. To all those who use a Mac; I recently bought an app called Affinity Designer, which is a vector drawing program, about $50 (I think) with no subscription. Some reviews touted it as being better than Illustrator…and if for nothing else, at least for the affordibility and not having a subscription fee. I have been spending a lot of time learning it and to me, it’s much more user friendly than Sketchup or Inkscape. It will export in SVG, PNG, and many of the other formats. If you’re interested, check it out in the app store…but make sure you don’t confuse it with Affinity Photo, which is another of their apps.

11 Likes

just as a side note: If someone else is intressted, Affinity Designer is currently on sale (50% off).

4 Likes

Thank you Xabess. As a fellow newbie i needed this.

1 Like

Thanks for the motivation.

1 Like

Thanks! Ive been thinking about finding a alternative to AI and Photoshop and this looks great! Got it!

1 Like

Yes, thank you. I missed it for that good price, but it’s still a very good deal. You’re in Switzerland, right?
Welcome to the forum!

My pleasure. Me too… I need all the help I can get! :relaxed:

I spent a long time on it yesterday and came out at the end of the day feeling really great about the things I was finally able to learn on it. It really IS a beautiful app. I have never used a vector program at all, so it was a matter of learning any of them from the bottom up.

1 Like

thank you for welcomeing me :slight_smile: and yes I’m in Switzerland :mountain_bicyclist:

I was just curious. We have family friends in Austria, in Bregenz and my father’s family came from Switzerland (long ago) from Wengen. What a gorgeous country.

Now everyone can have an Affinity, not just Mac OSX folk…

Spotted this article over on The Verge today. As of this post, Affinity Photo is now available as a free beta on Windows (Win7, 64-bit & beyond)