I need assistance

I am having some difficulty when cutting designs on my Glowforge. After tracing s design and uploading to my machine, I find the piece I have cut often is a little off from my design. I am A Chalk Couture designer and use Silhouette Cameo software to trace the design from one of our Transfers (photo of the Transfer uploaded to the Silhouette program). I then trace the design and save as an SVG. The machine cuts my file beautifully but when I am ready to ‘chalk’ on the woodcut, it’s just a little off. Is there another step I need to do in the Silhouette program before saving and cutting? I sure would appreciate help with this. Thanks!!

Welcome to the forum.

When you say it is a little off, do you mean the size is incorrect or the placement/alignment?

2 Likes

The machine is rated for ~1/4" alignment, if you’ve run the camera calibration procedure and are within that, then that will be as good as it gets.

1 Like

I don’t know specifically what you are making, but one thing that works for many things is to 1) pin the material down first and do not move it, or 2) to use a jig.

Like let’s say I am making a keychain and I want to engrave both sides.
I would make my design all lined up together.

Like my first print would be the black (cut) and red (engrave or score).
First, I would pin the material down. Place my design where I want it. Then do the first print.
Black: cut, Red: engrave, Blue: ignore.
Then I would remove the keychain, do whatever I need to do to it. Maybe I’m painting it or whatever. When all of that is done, put the item back into the glowforge, fitting it back into the spot it came out of. Then do the rest of the print.
So for my example, I’m printing on the other side - so I flip it over and have the blank side up. I do the second print.
Black: ignore Red: ignore, Blue: engrave.