Illustrator Cutting (stupid) Question

Okay. So I’m just not an Illustrator guy. So I’m hoping somebody can pity me and tell me how to do this seemingly-simple thing…

Let’s say I have a circle. And I want to cut, say, a 2-point line through it. Breaking the circle into two halves. O to (), basically.

Hope I described that well. I tried the knife but I’ve never used that tool before and it drew 2 blue lines on the screen but I didn’t understand what was happening. Anyway, my Googling lead me to the knife, but that didn’t get me what I wanted (as far as I can tell).

Hoping somebody can throw me a bone here. :slight_smile:

Try the scissors tool instead of the knife. (Same place as the eraser tool in the flyout.) Two cuts on opposite nodes, move one half out of the way, and then join the two open endpoints. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

THANKS! I might be understanding how to use the tool. But I’m at work and remoting into my home machine to try it. Might be easier when I’m actually in front it. I’ll play with it again when I’m home Thursday night.

Throw out the knife, it’s pretty useless.

If you have a recent version of Illustrator you can use the new-ish Shape Builder tool.
1 - draw circle (L key)
2 - draw line for cut (/ key, it can overlap - no need to have ends exactly on circle)
3 - select both shapes
4 - switch to Shape Builder tool ( shift + M) and holding down ALT click over half the circle to remove it.
5 - duplicate and rotate your remaining half.

Alternatively, if you don’t want to erase half then duplicate or you have older an older version of Illustrator, you can use Live Paint instead.
Follow steps 1-3 above
4 - switch to Live Paint tool (K)
5 - click anywhere on your shapes
6 - hit the “expand” button at the top of the screen
7 - ungroup (ctrl +shift+G)
You should now have two half circles and a line, enjoy!