Illustrator objects have extra anchors grouped outside shape - does it matter?

Hey team! Illustrator newbie here. I’ve been tracing some images to make assorted vector shapes. As part of that process, I might manually trace a handful of individual adjacent objects first. Then I’ll overlay them with a new shape, select the first objects, and use the “minus back” tool to cut away the objects on the back layer from the overlaid shape. The result is a cookie-cutter shape that fits right in between the original shapes like a puzzle piece. That works great, but I’ve discovered an artifact on many of the pieces created this way that have more complicated curves. Lots of them have automatically generated additional anchor points grouped as part of the main shape, but outside the extremities, following what used to be the original contours of the shapes removed by the minus back function. Like so:

I’m not sure why this happens, or if it’s going to cause a problem when I try to send these shapes to GF. If I ungroup the shape from the new anchor points I can usually delete them. Do I need to bother? Am I doing something wrong to cause this? Here’s a sample AI file exhibiting a shape with this issue:

http://mile213.com/shapetest.ai

Thanks,
Ryan

If you ungroup the object, you can just delete those pieces. those are very small line shapes. Not sure how you created them, but they’re separate from the primary shape.

additionally, on the part you’re not showing (bottom right), you have part of the shape that sticks out a little bit. those are additional nodes. if you want to remove them, you can click the - (minus) key for the remove anchor point tool, then click on each anchor point to remove it. that removes the point without removing a stroke segment between the anchor points.