Inkscape Engrave Question

I have an Inkscape design that exhibits strange behavior in the GF app. There are 5 paths grouped together that are just arcs. Instead of engraving the curves of the arcs GF wants to fill them in.

I went back into Inkscape to make sure that these arcs were converted to paths. Is there a step that I’m missing?

1 Like

I’ve seen this happen in Inkscape when I delete the wrong node or don’t have a closed path. Are all of the paths on the arcs closed?

1 Like

I’m not sure how to determine that. Shouldn’t an arc be closed by default?

By default yes but that doesn’t mean that it has not opened up during design time.

If you want to zip the file and upload it, I’ll see if I can see anything. I’m not an expert here and the most likely outcome will be a shrug of shoulders. You can cut out everything but the arcs if you don’t want to upload the full design.

Your language is a little confusing.

Grouped or combined?

If they’re one path, I would break them apart. Then, either way, look for nodes that aren’t properly merged to make closed shapes like carabis said.

If they are truly just arcs (as in from the ellipse tool), then that’s a stroke and not a shape. If you’re trying to engrave them, and they are truly arcs, I would “stroke to path” them. That will give you filled shapes that will engrave as expected.

Again, without the file you’re asking us to speculate, so either upload it or understand that we’re going to flop around like fish and waste everyone’s time until we just guess correctly.

2 Likes

Judging by your behavior here I bet you have arcs that are combined into one path, but again, speculation and a bit of a wild goose chase.

1 Like

LS Test.zip (3.5 KB)

Here is the file.