Laser masking

I am fairly new to lasers. I started using them in the past year, I am currently using a Gravograph LS900 60w laser available at my work and was wondering what kind of masking will work the best for lasers. I have used basic masking tape as well as paper transfer paper that my wife uses on her sillouhete vinyl cutter. None of it works well and the laser dosnt seem to penetrate it very well, however I can engrave into hardwood at 50% power and 80% speed down to almost a 1/4 of an inch. Can anyone help? Or am I doing something wrong?

14 Likes

I’m new to lasering, too, but I have been reading these forums for over a year. The topic of masking has come up several times. I suspect others will post links to some of the other posts. Until then, you can take a stab at using the search feature on the forum. It’s pretty good once you get used to it.

8 Likes

I use the paper transfer tape for masking and it works well with my 30wt…maybe the stuff you have is too thick??
Describe what you mean by doesnt do well…if you can engrave that deep into hardwood, it should totally obliterate the tape layer without any effort.

13 Likes

I picked up a roll of this Perfectear tape at Signwarehouse:

https://www.signwarehouse.com/c/perfectear-plus-medium-tack

(Problem with vinyl transfer tape is it’s much too high tack and thick for masking. Great for transfer of vinyl bits though.)

12 Likes

I’m using Ramboard tape right now. Locally available, sticks to most surfaces, sometimes too well. Adhesive loses tack when in contact with Enamel/Lacquer solvents though.

4 Likes

http://www.laserbits.com/sus-190-liquamask-pint.html

There is this. I don’t know how it works but I’ve been dying to try it. Send me a laser and I’ll test it out and report back. :grin:

19 Likes